It's hard sometimes to see the blessings behind the trials and tribulations of life. For instance, I have been sick for over a week and it's been an effort to do the minimum of what I need to do. Yet, if I pause long enough to reflect on something other than how I feel, I realize that there's still so much there to be grateful for.

I still feel like "my cup runneth over" with some serious stuff I don't want. And I definitely question the saying that God only gives us what we can handle. But my reality is that as I massage B's leg each day and work out the scars that have formed over her injury, I get a birds eye view of her healing process. And I am constantly in awe of the mixture of ingredients that go into that healing process.

Taking note of it reminds me of how different things looked nearly 3 months ago. I have the pictures and memories to go by, but each day that we get from the day of B's accident and subsequent days of pain, trauma, surgeries becomes a day that I can be more readily aware of just how blessed we are.

My daughter will be here to celebrate Thanksgiving with me this year. I will see her beautiful smiling face at my dinner table.  It doesn't get better than that.
11/28/2009 12:46:11 pm

It is so great that she can enjoy Thanksgiving with you. Awesome journey

Reply



Leave a Reply.